This is the "Welcome" page of the "Current Issues VCE" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Current Issues VCE  

Last Updated: Mar 22, 2015 URL: http://ccw.vic.edu.au.libguides.com/content.php?pid=662315 Print Guide RSS Updates

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Electronic resources to help with issues

Catholic College Wodonga subscribes to databases for student use. These 3 are particularly useful for issues - Echo online, Newsbank and EBSCO.

Echo online is an index of current issues in the media. It uses The Age, The Australian and The Herald Sun. There is a general introduction to the issues, arguments for and against and a link to articles. This is a really great starting point!

Newsbank indexes The Age, The Australian, The HeraldSun, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Weekly Times and has full text articles. It also has a list of Hot Topics and current issues. This is very helpful for understanding the issue.

EBSCO covers Australian and international newspapers and magazines and has some full text. It is great for locating articles.

FULL TEXT  means the whole article is available for you to print or save.

CITATION ONLY means you are given the address of the article (eg The Age May 5 2013 page 4) and you have to go to the hard copy and locate the article.

 

Newspapers in Mercy Library

The Mercy Library holds a copy of the three daily newspapers The Age, The HeraldSun and The Australian in print form for a period of 12 months. There is a photocopier available so articles can be copied. Until Year 12 cards arrive please ask the library staff to assist you. Return papers to the librarian's desk for sorting.

 

Useful issues sites

  • Crikey.com
    Independent analysis of Australian politics and media.
  • The drum
    Analysis of the day's news in an engaging & entertaining way.
  • The Global Mail
    The Global Mail is an Australian online news startup that launched on 6 February 2012. The website is notable for being free to access, free of advertising and not-for-profit.
  • How to ace the media analysis
    Explanation of how to structure your response from VCEhelp.com.au

Newspaper sites

 

Clickview access FAQ's

ClickView Online allows you to watch your ClickView videos over the internet. 

Username: Your student email address (Student no. @ccw.vic.edu.au)

Password: Log into your school mail and find an email from Clickview which will provide you with your password.

If you have lost your email use the the "Forgot your password" link and they will resend another instantly to your school email.

Echo Online

An index of current issues in the media. Indexes the Herald Sun, The Age, The Australian.

Newsbank

Complete full-text content of local, regional, and national newspapers. Covers community events, education, sports, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. 

 

Book in Mercy library

Cover Art
Media literacy - Melanie Napthine
Call Number: 302.23 NAP
ISBN: 9781922243072
Publication Date: 2013

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip